META announces Rocket League High School Championships in Australia and New Zealand

After establishing Australian and New Zealand High School Leagues for League of Legends and NBA2K, META High School Esports would like to announce Rocket League will also be a title up for grabs in 2019.

High schools in across Australia and New Zealand will compete against each other with the winning regional teams advancing to the championship rounds, to be held later this year.

META League Commissioner Woody Wu described Rocket League as “having a large and growing young fan base in Australia and one META is keen to engage with across Oceania”.

The announcement comes as META – owned by the Adelaide Football Club – continues to expand, with more than 230 teams already signed up to the League of Legends High School League.

“META is in growth mode, with the expansion into new games set to engage more and more students, teachers and parents across Australia and New Zealand,” Wu said.

Adelaide Football Club’s Chief Operating Officer Nigel Smart described the addition of Rocket League as “a natural fit and an esport that fits very well within the high school communities across Australia and New Zealand.”

Sign-ups for the Rocket League META High School Esports Championship are now open.

Matches will be played on Thursday nights at 5 pm in a swiss format, followed by single-elimination playoffs.

Visit to get more information about META High School Esports and to register a team.